Cart Control panel
Feature Request overview

Feature Request

[Implemented] Option to not turn on VPS when taking or restoring snapshot

If your VPS is turned off when you take or restore a snapshot, it will turn on. It would be nice if there was a checkbox that would allow you to not turn on the VPS. Two purposes:

  1. You might not want to turn on your server at that point. An example could be there are services enabled that you don't want to start right now. Basically, the VPS shouldn't turn on unexpectedly.

  2. When taking a snapshot a TransIP technician has explained to me that once the process has been started, there's no risk in using the VPS while the process finishes, because the snapshot has already been taken and it's just copying it to a backup server. When restoring a snapshot the VPS boots from the backup server while copying the snapshot to its own SSD. At that point the VPS is paused briefly while the storage connection is switched to using its own SSD instead of the backup server. This pause usually gives no problems, but it does cause Windows Remote Desktop to disconnect and it might be a problem for other services too. Again, this happens because the VPS is automatically turned on when you start the restore process to minimize downtime. If you'd rather it doesn't turn on at this point an option to disable that would be great.

In a perfect world:

"You're about to take or restore a snapshot. What would you like to do?

  1. Keep VPS off or
  2. Turn VPS on immediately or
  3. Turn VPS on after the process has completely finished"

Personally I could live without option 3, because I can just start the process and turn it on myself afterwards if I want to, but I would REALLY like the option to keep the VPS off while taking or restoring a snapshot.

================================== TransIP: we've implemented this feature, see https://www.transip.eu/knowledgebase/entry/256-how-can-create-snapshots-bladevps/

Option 3 hasn't been included, but can be built using our REST-API by checking against the isLocked status, see https://api.transip.nl/rest/docs.html

Create an account or log in to leave a rating.

Comments

Create an account or log in to be able to leave a comment.

Are you stuck?

Ask one of our specialists to assist you

Contact us